Engage

hashtaggovegan_animal uses_facebook_vegan

A family member posted the photo shown at the beginning of this blog on Facebook.  Alarm bells went off in my head “THIS IS SO WRONG!!” This is nothing new.  Posts happen all the time without people looking into them and just assuming that they’re true, especially from this person.

I said to myself, Don’t engage…just scroll past…don’t engage...Unfortunately, I didn’t listen to myself.  I engaged.

I was the pushy, sarcastic vegan (I’m naturally sarcastic so that’s nothing I can help). I posted:  “Yeah you’re right. we shouldn’t try to find vegan alternatives to all those things (which exist) or at the very least try to minimize our contribution to animal suffering and do what’s best for our health.”

Then he claimed he was not against veganism in general but that organic farmers still use animal products to fertilize, etc.

My husband then intervened and posted a link to http://veganorganic.net/ which is a website that aims “to research and promote vegan organic (also known as stockfree organic) methods of agriculture and horticulture throughout the world so that green, clean and cruelty-free food becomes widely available.”

Which got no response.  What did get posted were bible verses about how God put animals on this earth for us….I’m not going to try to argue with someone’s religion (and I’m sure they knew that).  And frankly at that point I was done arguing anyway. (I posted a few memes but wasn’t going to get into it more).

The point is, that there are always people who will disagree with you and tell you why you’re wrong, from both sides no matter what you are arguing-politics, health, religion, movies, etc.  Every one of us slips up and wants to tell someone else why they’re wrong. I did this time and EVERYTHING was telling me to ignore it.  Next time I’ll probably ignore it but I do believe that we should stand up for what we believe in but also know when to stop.  Maybe next time I’ll be less snarky (which is pretty hard) and just post a fact about finding vegan alternatives and let others come to their own conclusion.  If someone is not ready for new information there is nothing you can do to change their minds about it.  It’s just going to make them stick their heels in and say “bacon” to everything you say.  We have to be accepting of other’s viewpoints just as we would want them to be accepting of ours. Yes, I totally agree that we shouldn’t be the ones called ‘zealots’ because we want to end animal suffering but that’s where all change started. With a group of zealots wanting to make a difference.

Leave a Reply

