What The Health Review

what the health_vegan_netflix_documentary_#govegan

Holy shit guys….

I don’t even know what to say…

Watch it. That’s all.

 

Just kidding. I have more to say. But seriously, watch it.

This is a new documentary on Netflix by the makers of Cowspiracy and they did another amazing job.

There is so much information in this movie that I don’t know how they organized it in a way that made it easy to understand and follow. And when I say so much information, the first half hour was LOADED with so much information that I filled up my note pad and had to stop taking notes.

I don’t want to give too much away but my jaw dropped to the floor more times than I could count in just the first 15 minutes with health statistics.

Yes this is a very pro-vegan (plant-based) movie (obviously or I wouldn’t be talking about it) but one thing I noticed was that even if you didn’t give a rip about animal welfare, this movie has so many reasons for going vegan that have nothing to do with animal welfare.

Paraphrasing: when the body breaks down cheese it targets the same receptors in the brain as heroin does (to a lesser extent). ¬†Meaning, it’s highly addictive.

My favorite thing they did was expertly expel the protein myth, the canine teeth for tearing meat myth, and the omnivore myth.

Two of my favorite protein myth quotes that I will be using from now on when I get asked “Where do you get your protein?”

The protein that humans get from animals comes from plants.

The diets highest in protein create diabetes, heart disease, cancer.

I also love that they showed strong plant-based people at the end, including the 300 Pound Vegan; debunking the myth that eating only plants makes you super frail when in fact everyone I’ve seen looks like they’re thriving. When I used to eat meat/dairy I would pick up milk from an Amish farmer and there was a woman who all she ate was meat, milk, and cheese (maybe eggs too, I can’t remember) but she looked like her skin was hanging off her bones.

edger_men in black_alien_#govegan

“Edgar your skin’s hanging off your bones.”

The first thing I said to my husband after watching this was ‘how can we get all of our family to watch this?’

If you figure out how…let me know.

 

Leave a Reply

